Harrisburg Violent Crimes Attorney
Aggressive Representation for Your Case. 15+ Years of Experience.
Violent crimes can range from simple assault cases to involuntary manslaughter. The consequences for violent crime charges will vary depending on your situation, so it is critical to hire an experienced violent crimes defense attorney to handle your case. Attorney Elisabeth K. H. Pasqualini has over 15 years of experience defending clients against criminal charges, and you can trust her to aggressively defend you in court and communicate transparently with you throughout your case.
Pennsylvania Assault Laws
There are two categories of assault in Pennsylvania: simple assault and aggravated assault. To convict someone of simple assault, a prosecutor must prove the following beyond a reasonable doubt:
- The defendant intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly attempted to cause bodily injury to another person
- The defendant negligently caused bodily injury to another person with a deadly weapon
- The defendant attempted to use physical menace to intimidate another person with imminent serious bodily injury
Aggravated assault can occur when the defendant does any of the following:
- Causes serious bodily injury to another and shows an extreme indifference to human life
- Places the victim in fear of serious bodily injury and the victim is a law enforcement or correctional officer performing their duties
- Intentionally and knowingly intends to cause serious bodily harm to a member of the teaching community at a school
What are the Penalties for Assault?
Simple assault is charged as a second degree or a third degree misdemeanor depending on the situation, and carries a penalty of up to 1 year in prison. If the assault occurs against a child under the age of 12 by an adult over the age of 21, it is a first degree misdemeanor punishable by up to 5 years in prison.
Aggravated assault is a felony of either the first or second degree depending on who the offense was committed against. For instance, if the assault occurs against a police officer or firefighter, it will be a first degree felony that carries up to 20 years in prison. Otherwise, it will be a second degree felony with up to 10 years in prison.
Domestic Violence Laws
Under the Protection from Abuse Act, domestic violence is a form of assault that involves the use of intimidation, threats, or actual physical violence against another member of the same family. Domestic violence can be physical, sexual or financial and can happen through different types of communication, including written, telephone, fax, e-mail, or voicemail. Some examples of domestic violence charges are:
- Child abuse
- Criminal trespass
- Domestic assault
- Endangering the welfare of children
- Sexual assault
- Violation of protective order
What are the Penalties for Domestic Violence?
In the state of Pennsylvania, penalties for domestic violence can be severe. You could be facing jail time, probation, restraining orders and even lose the right to own firearms. Depending on your conduct and factors such as your prior offenses or history of domestic violence, you may be charged with a felony or misdemeanor.
To prove involuntary manslaughter, a prosecutor must show that you caused the victim's death by reckless or grossly negligent conduct while engaging in lawful or unlawful activity, such as reckless driving, speeding, child neglect, and DUI. Involuntary manslaughter is a first degree misdemeanor punishable by up to 5 years in prison.
A person who kills an individual without lawful justification commits voluntary manslaughter if, at the time of the killing, they acted under a sudden and intense passion resulting from serious provocation by the individual killed or another who they intended to kill. Voluntary manslaughter is convicted as a first degree felony that carries imprisonment for up to 20 years.
Note that what sets apart first degree murder from second degree murder is premeditation. To convict you of first degree murder, the prosecutor must prove that you had a specific intent to kill, which the state may decide by considering your actions, use of a deadly weapon, or other circumstances. First degree murder charges are not to be taken lightly, and they are punishable by the death penalty or life imprisonment, depending on your case.
Let EKHP Law, LLC Fight Your Violent Crimes Charge
If you have been charged with committing a violent crime, contact an experienced defense attorney to represent your case immediately. EKHP Law, LLC has years of trial experience and can confidently take your case to court with an aggressive and fearless defense strategy. Especially in a case of violent crime that might have severely lasting repercussions, you deserve an aggressive and winning attorney on your side.
Contact EKHP Law, LLC to schedule your free initial consultation today.
“Her work was impeccable and impressive. She went above and beyond what we expected.”- Former Client
“Thanks to Elisabeth, I was able to come home and continue to be a rock for my family.”- Former Client
“She helped me get a chance to start my life over with a clean slate, and for that I am grateful and forever in her debt.”- Former Client
Vigilance & Determination
Attorney Pasqualini is fiercely passionate and will always exercise her due diligence when fighting for clients.
Honor & Respect
We are all accountable and equal under the rule of law and Attorney Pasqualini will always conduct herself with integrity and honesty.
Attorney Pasqualini is very attentive and conscientious of her clients' time and needs.
Strong Litigation Experience
Attorney Pasqualini will always stand up and fight assertively for her clients in the courtroom.